John, son of Joseph and Ann (née Gibson) Pattison, was born about 1852. He married Emily Charlotte Parker in 1889. They had three children — Eric, Leslie and Gladys.
The family lived at their farm "Oaklands" at Bannockburn until 1910. It had a frontage to the Moorabool River. John was a councillor in the Bannockburn Shire for 17 years and resigned when he went to live at "Sunnyside" in Marshall. John successfully contested the Barwon riding vacancy in the South Barwon Shire in 1910 using his experience at Bannockburn to appeal to ratepayers. He served one term from 1910 until 1913.
The farms were leased after an unsuccessful auction 1910.
John died on 26 March 1926 at "Sunnyside" aged 73 years. Emily died on 23 October 1931. They were buried together at Bannockburn Cemetery.
Our next meeting is at 7:30pm on 13 February, 2020 at Mount Duneed Hall, 40 Mount Duneed Road, Mount Duneed.
In 1857 Johann Friedrich and Ann Elizabeth Seiffert and their four children emigrated from Germany on the Peter Godeffroy. Dirleen Bufton, a descendant of the original settlers, who has written a book outlining the family story will tell of their reasons for making the long journey and of their descendants.
Connewarre Flour Mill and its 19th Century Competitors
Blog Created by:
Together They Served
Torquay Museum Without Walls
Geelong and District Database
Geelong Cemetery Index
Australian War Memorial
Surf Coast Early Schools
Barwon Heads History